LANDSCAPES & WALKING ON EARTH

 

from Thich Nhat Hanh . . .

 

Spring Green, Wisconsin at Taleisen East - bruce witzel photo

I like to walk alone on country paths, rice plants and wild grasses on both sides, putting each foot down in mindfulness, knowing that I walk on the wondrous earth.

 

 

Boy in Kaslo BC - Fran Guenette photo

In such moments, existence is a miraculous and mysterious reality.

 

 

Marble River - Bruce witzel photo

People usually consider walking on water or in thin air as a miracle.

 

 

A family in the  Sierra Nevadas - bruce witzel photo

But I think the real miracle is not to walk either on water or thin air, but to walk on earth.

 

Thich Nhat Hanh , Buddhist Monk

& friends

 

thich-nhat-hanh-peacemarch

Photo source & credit – unknown.

 

Peace and love โ€“ Bruce

 

Landscape

11 thoughts on “LANDSCAPES & WALKING ON EARTH

  1. very beautiful, Bruce!
    it was kinda fun to hear him say that many times
    and often with a teasing smile that would bring out a few laughs.
    in that image from a walk in L.A., it’s interesting to see few walker’s smiles ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Your welcome David.

      I know you are close to Thay, and it’s wonderful to hear you describe so intimately his speaking this out loud, “walking on earth is the miracle.” I can vision his teasing smile, maybe along with a twinkle in his eye. Thank you for identifying the photo as taken in LA…. I wondered about it. Your mentioning of a few of the walkers smiles had me look again, more deeply…. I love the range of expressions and emotion of the monks and all the walkers… the tentativeness, the calm, the contemplation…. Your comment inspired me to look for Thay speaking, and I just watched a video where he spoke on a question from a youngster in Plum Village, May of 2014…. “Is there life after death?” You may have been at that retreat….

      David – for others who may come across this I’ll add the link here to that video, for anyone else who may happen to read this. It’s included at the top of this article from 2015

      http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/thich-nhat-hanh-life-after-death_us_55e5ff24e4b0c818f61971c7

      Thank you David ๐Ÿ™‚ my wonderful good Buddhist friend.

      • the nature of life & death
        was always one of Thay’s deepest teachings, Bruce.
        i’ll share a link from the last time I spoke to Thay during a Q&A
        asking him a question about how to better
        not behave as a victim; starts at about 1:50:30

    • Thanks Peter. Thich Nhat Hanh writings and books have always been powerful medicine to me. The photo of the family hiking along the lake is actually the Sierra Nevada’s in Yosemite… your neck of the woods. The photo of the river with tree and sky reflection is closer to home, the watershed I live on in British Columbia. By the way …

      I popped over to your blog and absolutely enjoyed the “Wind Wolf Preserve Spring Wildflower Hike” you shared. I’ve linked it so others might see. Your photography is fabulous, the commentary was wonderful, and I was amazed of the beauty of such rugged place so close to Los Angeles. I appreciate your visit and kind words here, and may you be well and have many walks in the sacred and wild places.

      Peace to you – Bruce

  2. A lovely post with beautiful photos. I love to walk on the beach where stones and shells remind me that we are only here for a short time but the oceans and earth are almost timeless.

    • Agelessness meets mortality… I loved reading your thoughtful post on post-war England compared to now. It was such a brief moment ago, really, and the world is so different. … I think at core, the human heart is the same. Peace to you “heaven happens”…. bruce

Leave a Reply

