In Footsteps of Thoreau

Our old boardwalk - Bruce Witzel photo

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it has to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.

I did not wish to live what was not life, since living is so dear, nor did I wish to practice resignation, unless it was quite necessary.

Henry David Thoreau

View of Northern Vancouver Island - Bruce Witzel photo

Giving thanks from the West Coast of Canada

Bruce

12 thoughts on “In Footsteps of Thoreau

  1. My Aunt Hildred reviewed book for the Kansas City Star. She did one Walden. I read her review and that inspired me to go go into the woods to see what life was all about. I told her of this desire. I was about 11. She was somewhat amused. Amusement often leads to heroic efforts. To see the Kingdom one needs to be born again, enter into the end half of our lives and see what is in the container we have constructed during the first half. charles brandt

Leave a Reply

