A Funny Harvest Story

Wow – it’s been 5 weeks since I created a post. I assure you I’m alive and well, although busy with family, home and carpentry obligations. My apologies for not being so attentive to the blog-o-sphere over the summer. I do enjoy connecting with you all, such a diverse and interesting cross section of humanity. In this re-blog, I give you a glimpse of another reliable alternative energy source, the best under the sun – my wife and partner Francis. Here she has a wonderfully funny harvest story, bears and children included. Oh – if you get a chance please check out her two e-novels of “The Crater Lake Series” (on the right side bar). It’s on location at the lake we live on (sort of). I guarantee you won’t be disappointed! Peace and good cheer to all of you . . . Bruce.

disappearinginplainsight

Mama bear and cubs - Guenette photo

I’ve written before about bears roaming freely along the paths around our cabin. We generally see the first of our visitors sometime in April and then, depending on the year (and I imagine this has to do with a complex number of factors) we may see them wandering around right through early October. Usually visitations increase in late August and September when the salal berries are at their best. The pictures (above and just below) were our 2011 visitors. These little guys were hilarious. They got up in that tree a few times.

Cubs - Bruce Witzel photo

This year we were absolutely bear free. Not one sighting, not one speck of bear evidence to be found. So, wouldn’t you know it . . . the day before my daughter and granddaughters were to arrive, in the third week of August, I found a small pile of bear scat on one of the trails right…

View original post 591 more words

4 thoughts on “A Funny Harvest Story

Leave a Reply

