BETWEEN: CHOOSING ONE THING OVER ANOTHER & BUCKMINSTER FULLER

“We are called to be architects of the future, not its victims.”

~ Buckminster Fuller ~

 

In this weeks Photo Challenge: Between, Danielle Hark of the Broken Light Collective suggests that the word between might reflect a choice we need to make — the challenge of choosing one thing over another.

Thus, between these lines and images, I bring you the futurist Buckminster Fuller.

The photographs zoom in on “Biosphere”, the geodesic dome designed by Buckminster Fuller as the United States pavilion for the Montreal World Expo of 1967.

As Bucky once said, “integrity is the essence of everything successful.”

Today Biosphere houses a  series of exhibits by Environment Canada including Renewable Energy: Time to Decide, Towards Sustainable Transportation, and 1 Degree: What Difference does it make?     

Here is more to ponder from Buckminster Fuller. . .

 

ON GLOBAL EMMISIONS AND CLIMATE CHANGE:

“Pollution is nothing but the resources we are not harvesting. We allow them to disperse because we’ve been ignorant of their value.”

 

Sault St. Marie Factory

 

                                                                      ON FAITH AND WAR:

 

                                              buckminster-fuller-quote-renw-yr-spirit

  Google image

 

The Montreal Biosphere from the World Expo 1967

 

“Faith is much better than belief. Belief is when someone else does the thinking.”

 

                                                     Saint Lawrence River

 

 

Mont Royal in Montreal

 

 

Montreal Biosphere  Geodesic dome was the U.S. pavilion at the World Expo 1967

 

ON SENSE OF PLACE AND CHILDREN:

“The most important thing to teach your children is that the sun does not rise and set. It is the Earth that revolves around the sun. Then teach them the concepts of North, South, East and West, and that they relate to where they happen to be on the planet’s surface at that time. Everything else will follow.”

 

Sunset on Lake Manitou, Saskatchewan

 

 

One of the great American visionaries of the twentieth century, Buckminster Fuller (1895–1983) endeavoured to see what he, a single individual, might do to benefit the largest segment of humanity while consuming the minimum of the earth’s resources. Doing “more with less” was Fuller’s credo. He described himself as a “comprehensive anticipatory design scientist,” setting forth to solve the escalating challenges that faced humanity before they became insurmountable.

Source: Whitney Museum of Art – Buckminster Fuller: Starting with the Universe

391cea8643ba4cf25c4f0047b2637f50

Google image

 

In hope for goodness

~ Bruce ~

22 thoughts on “BETWEEN: CHOOSING ONE THING OVER ANOTHER & BUCKMINSTER FULLER

  1. There is a small geodesic dome in the town of Carbondale, Illinois that he designed and lived in. When I was there in the 90s, it had fallen into disrepair, being located in the student “ghetto” of run-down homes. It was hard to believe that the town allowed that to happen, but people would just roll their eyes and say.”That’s southern Illinois for you.”
    Yet I was always happy that he chose to teach at the definetly blue collar Southern Illinois University, where I did my graduate work. He would have been aware of the poverty in places like Cairo and the rest of the upper Mississippi Delta. I always felt moved by his loyalty to that humble region. When I passed by his dome on South Forest St. on my bicycle, I’d call out “Hi Bucky, we haven’t forgotten your house!”, while drunken undergraduates stared at me blankly.
    But I heard that eventually, that little dome’s fans saved it. So. A good ending to that particular small story, much less important than the big story you told – for which I thank you, Bruce.

    • That’s an amazing experience you’re speaking of, complete with blank stares and the people that roll their eyes 🙂 To learn of this makes me feel one step closer to Bucky, the real person. Thank you so much for this Claire.

      Peace.

  2. Reblogged this on Teacher as Transformer and commented:
    There are some incredible images and quotes in this post. The quote about faith and beliefs is an incredible one and reminded me of Emmanuel Levinas’ thinking that faith is quite fragile. Beliefs become very real and concrete in some ways; whereas faith is always tested.

  3. A delightful surprise to find this reminder of one of my early heroes. I am also reminded daily as I leave my little country road and off to the side can view two geodesic dome houses. Thanks for the inspiration Bruce. I had forgotten some of those quotes.

  4. I’m more familiar with Bucky’s quotes than I am of the man. I find these particular quotes very inspirational and I think I would be well served to learn much more about Buckminster Fuller’s contribution while he was living. He really was an incredible visionary and within the contexts of the world we live in today, we could use a lot more of what he had to offer! Lovely photos, Bruce.

    • It was the other way round for me Debra – I was familiar with his architecture, not so much his writings. So in the research I did for this post, I was struck how he had gone through an “aha” moment, where he had such clarity with what his mission in life would be. And how he was true to that work. Everything else followed from that. . .

    • Thanks Roy. Because of my lack of clarity I can see why you thought the first photo would be of Montreal as in the other photos I was talking about the Biosphere, which is located in Montreal. However, it is of Sault St. Marie (a big steel city) way at the other end of the Saint Laurence Seaway as it enters Lake Superior (the uppermost of the 5 Great Lakes). And I think it is a moose in the photo, or rather a life size statue of a moose. I found great irony when I came upon this scene.

      I am sure your enjoying the world cup. I am the odd one out, as I don’t follow it, but I do hope their is not too much violence.

      • So an elk isn’t a moose then? So much for my grasp of North American wildlife 🙂 As for the World Cup I was lukewarm anyway but with England back home already I’ll just be listening to the occasional radio commentary.

    • Quite a humble job – lots of original thinkers, creators and artists have had other occupations to support their “real” vocation. As a carpenter, I use my truck almost every day, moving materials, tools and supplies – my shop on wheels. I sure wish manufacturers would build a hybrid powered truck.

    • That’s good Carol. Although Fullers idea’s are dated now, my opinion is that his basic credo – that we can do more with less – is more essential to implement now than ever before. Our society wastes so many resources, most especially fossil fuels, and at such a terrible cost. I appreciate your comment and enjoyed reading your post about gaining confidence in ourselves. Best regards – Bruce

    • I’m glad for this, Carol. Although many of Buckminster Fullers ideas didn’t get implemented, I think his greatest gift to us was his inspiration. And as I mentioned above to Carol, his basic credo – that we can do more with less – has an urgent validity. Today more than ever.

Leave a Reply

