WINDOW OF MYSTICAL DAWN VS. FRANK LLOYD WRIGHT

As a builder, when I saw the Weekly Photo Challenge: Windows, I had numerous ideas. I first thought of doing a post about Frank Lloyd Wright, because  he greatly influenced American architecture by using windows to replace walls, and hence  blurring the line between indoor and outdoor space.

Then I considered a photo-essay about window-walls in tall buildings, to be titled Skyscraperism . . . A Wrightonian term to be sure. I’ll leave this for a later date.

I also thought about windows in Passive Solar Design . . . utilizing free energy of the Sun to pass through appropriately designed  windows to reduce or eliminate the heating requirements for a building.

I’ve talked about this in Home in the Country and Keen on Conservation, Renewable Energy &  Social Ecology.  Considering  the rising costs associated with both climate change and energy, I simply can’t help to speak up about this. So, at the bottom of this post I include F.L. Wright’s 1943 design of the “Solar Hemicycle”.  A moderately sized solar masterpiece.

But what I’m really going to focus on, is to go back  a quarter century as I sat in the upper window of our cabin, pictured below,  while writing a  poem . . . 

Below the photo,  is Mystical Dawn. 

Over years the cabin and the world has been shaped and changed, sometimes for better, sometimes for worse.  So have I.

 

The cabin at dawn

 

MYSTICAL DAWNSlide of the cabin about 1985

 

Lone morning star, burns

Bright early darkness

Hours of dawn, framed

The window with the odd shape

 

Mystical cloudiness, black

(to blue, then grey)

Obscured slightly moving

Intellect, stirs a heard heart

Leaps green, action alert

 

Remembering woman’s dream

He loved, her joy

With angers flickering

Stars flanking Venus, nowCabin in the 1990's

 

What, I ask, blue morning sky

Ones bright two, had waned

Momentum times continuum fringes

Three with purple

 

She rises, rose coloured

(through glass)

Larks song awakening

My worldMiddle loft of the cabin

Alone: odd shaped

In windows

Early hours of dawn.

 

b. thomas witzel

 

from

Green dragons and

arising Mayan sun

 

 

 

 

Conclusion: Frank Lloyd Wright’s “Solar Hemicycle”

 

Jacobs-II-house-today - SOLAR HEMICYCLE

Photo credit: green architecture notes

Jacobs-II-passive-solar-Interior.jpeg.644x0_q100_crop-smart[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo credit: green architecture notes

Donald Aitken writes: “The Solar Hemicycle is semicircular in plan, featuring a single concave arc of fourteen-foot high glass spanning the two stories both vertically and horizontally, and opening southward to a circular sunken garden and the Wisconsin prairie beyond. The north, east, and west sides are bermed up to the height of the clerestory windows on the second floor, protecting the house from cold winter north winds, while the sunken garden in front combines with the rear smooth berming to create am air pressure differential that deflects snow and wind up and away from the large south-facing windows.” 

Source: Global Possibilities

 

Postscript

 

Installing shakes above newly installed dormer windowsI almost didn’t publish this, thinking it being too obtuse. I give credit for my change of heart to Annette, of Beauty Along the Road. Her post Windows into the Inner Sanctum, gently nudged me forward.

 

 

Cheers – Bruce

17 thoughts on “WINDOW OF MYSTICAL DAWN VS. FRANK LLOYD WRIGHT

  1. This is your cabin in the woods? It’s bigger than my whole darn house! I am envious- not really of the house but of your garret. I keep asking my wife for permission to turn the guest bedroom into a writing/photography room but she maintains we need it “just in case” we have overnight visitors. In the past year we have not had one overnight visitor. As for your poem, I admit I do not understand it fully, but I do get a sense of awakening, stretching towards knowledge. Great information about Frank Lloyd Wright, too. When we moved here, my wife had me remove all the window coverings facing the back yard. Now each morning it is our own little piece of paradise. I will take a photo one day. Maybe right now!

    • 🙂 “The cabin” is indeed a bit of a misnomer. Our friends and family have always known it as such, so the term has stuck.

      Our home (and cabin) has indeed evolved over 35 years, from an intial rustic 900 square feet and kerosene lanterns, to its present 1300 square feet, complete with an off-grid energy system, etc. Two more big improvements have been an access road to eliminate our old boardwalk and 70 stairs from the main gravel road, as well as the modern day communications of cell phone and satellite internet. This is a huge change to our quality of life . . .

      Picture us calling “mayday” over a radio telephone when someone dropped a cigarette outside and started a fire.This really happened, on the day Fran and I were married here at “the lake” (another one of our vernacular terms) Lucky our 50 guests were able to set up a bucket brigade and put the fire out before the forest service arrived!

      I’m looking forward to seeing you’re own little piece of paradise, Emilio. Small is beautiful, and more affordable, right?Good for your wife to having you remove the window coverings. I know people need privacy, by I don’t know why we have windows and then just cover them up.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Window | Joe's Musings

    • Your welcome ‘Opreach’ – you may also enjoy numerous posts I have be creating from the work of Fr. Charles Brandt, a Catholic hermit priest located on Vancouver island.

      I look forward to your posts, like the one today of the grandeur of the south west with the Maori proverb.

      Peace to you.

  3. Lovely. Thanks. Our house, while close to the city, is like a little cabin, all tongue and groove wood inside, and cedar outside, and our windows in what we call “the great room” (although it’s not all that large) go from the floor to the edge of the ceiling, which then goes up into a type of vault. We’re surrounded by trees, so not much heat comes in, and being Oregon, not much sun, either! But it is lovely, like being outside in the woods. Your room looks so cosy and delightful! Good job all around, Bruce.

    • What a lovely sound home you have Susan with having both the wonder of seclusion in the trees and still having the convenience of being close to the city. A bonus in many ways. Thanks for descibing your place.

    • I really love using “rake window” in the top 1/2 story of a house. It can be tricky sizing and getting the angles correct, but high school trigonmetry comes in handy with that. Thank you for appreciating (sp) my poetry and photography.

  4. Glad I could nudge you in the direction of your heart….like you, I was thinking about all kinds of windows (not that there aren’t really, really interesting window shapes, window opening without glass, windows covered with curtains, etc), but then it hit me and I ended up doing Windows to the Inner Sanctum. Thanks for the mention.

Leave a Reply

