SYMBOLS: IN MEMORY OF NELSON MANDELA

A Rainbow World

“Overcoming poverty is not a task of charity, it is an act of justice. Like Slavery and Apartheid, poverty is not natural. It is man-made and it can be overcome and eradicated by the actions of human beings. Sometimes it falls on a generation to be great. YOU can be that great generation. Let your greatness blossom.” – Nelson Mandela

Being active in the late 1980’s with the anti apartheid movement was an important moment for many Canadians. Our own Progressive Conservative Prime Minister of the day, Brian Mulroney, eventually followed our lead in the boycott against the oppressive South African regime.  He and the Canadian government spoke up against U.S President Ronald Reagan and U.K. Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, 2 western leaders  who were not supporting the anti-apartheid movement.

I had withdrawn all my funds from the bank of Nova Scotia which had numerous unethical investments in South Africa. I recall speaking by telephone to another activist about the boycott against Shell Oil and other corporations. In his thick South African accent he asked me incredulously “you’ve never heard of DeBeers man, you have never heard of De Beers?” 

De Beers is a cartel of companies that dominate the diamond . . . sectors.”  (Wikipedia) De Beers historically has been synonymous with Blood Diamonds. Do you get the the picture?

It was a moment of personal awakening that I will never forget. .

 

A rainbow in the forest - Northern Vancouver Island

The rainbow – a symbol of hope

“I am fundamentally an optimist. Whether that comes from nature or nurture, I cannot say. Part of being optimistic is keeping one’s head pointed toward the sun, one’s feet moving forward. There were many dark moments when my faith in humanity was sorely tested, but I would not and could not give myself up to despair. That way lays defeat . . .” –  Nelson Mandela

 

Sun image

A universal symbol – the happy face & the sun; the great luminary.

 

Nelson Mandela - google images

 

(Above and below – Google images)

 

Nelson Mandela - Ambassador of Peace, Symbol of Struggle - google images

“I stand here before you not as a prophet but as a humble servant of you, the people.” – Nelson Mandela

 

A bridge in Oregon, USA

Will we choose to bridge the chasm?

 

“The time for the healing of the wounds has come. The moment to bridge the chasms that divide us has come. The time to build is upon us.” – N. Mandela

 

Power to the People: Amandla!

 

Nasa image - Europe, Asia, & Afica at Night

 

A telling reality of the Earth – Africa is powerless at night

 

Nelson_Mandela - Painted portrait on a wall - from google images

“It always seems impossible until it’s done.”

 

Nelson Mandela  1918 –2013

Rest in Peace

 

 

Batoche, Sakatchewan - Loius Riel Memorial

 

Posted in response to the outpouring of love and testimony –

and for Travel theme: Symbol, from Where’s my Backpack.

17 thoughts on “SYMBOLS: IN MEMORY OF NELSON MANDELA

  1. Dearest Bruce, please forgive me for not responding to your latest comment to me. The truth is, I was so moved by it, and in a sad place, that I didn’t know what to say. It meant a great deal to me, and I haven’t forgotten it.
    Just – thanks. Thank-you, brother.

    • Carol … I had another thought about that circle symbol as I was day dreaming today…. could be like sunrise… a new dawn. Thanks again for appreciating my Mandela tribute. Hope your pain is subsiding somewhat.

      • Thank you, Bruce. I’m grateful to hear that this symbol intrigued you and led your dream in a positive direction. Given where I live now, it certainly could be a sunrise over Lake Superior – I live on the southwestern tip of the Lake, so I am only see the sun rise over the water 🙂 . It sets behind the hills on the west side of the city…

        And thank you for your healing wishes. I send my best wishes to you and Francis from wintry Duluth.

  2. Also fitting for the Word Press Photo Challenge “Gone, But Not Forgotten”. I marvel each time I recall that he was in prison for 27 years, still emerging an undefeated optimist. He is truly inspiring. Thanks for this memorial, Bruce.

    • Gone, But Not Forgotten, as well! Although I haven’t read much by or about Mandela, in the movies and TV clips I have seen about him I am amazed by his courage, humility, and unwavering capacity for forgiveness…. he is truly inspiring.

  3. Reblogged this on through the luminary lens and commented:

    One year ago today on Dec. 5, 2013, Nelson Mandela died. Suffering and destruction in the world can make us feel helpless at times. Yet one single individual (like you and I) can make a difference… To reiterate this I quote the Dalai Lama, “if you think you are to small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito.” In this re-blog, I give you “A Rainblow World”, my thoughts from last December… please click this link for the full text of my story https://throughtheluminarylens.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/symbols-in-memory-of-nelson-mandela/ Peace to you all – Bruce

    • Yes – so true, and a similar story for so many people throughout the globe. There is much work to be done, and yet this one man gives so much hope that the impossible . . . is possible. Peace and justice for all the earth, and best regards.

Leave a Reply

