In the Background

The photo challenge reads:

The places that we pass through day after day, or even once in a lifetime, leave in their small way, echoes and traces of themselves upon us. But so often when taking self portraits or pictures of friends, the places themselves become a soft blurred mush of indistinct semi-nothingness, the limelight stolen by our smiling faces . . . 

In a new post created for this challenge, share a picture that says –

In the Background.

 

IMG_1332-2b

Once you get past all four of our butts, there in the background is “The Balanced Rock.” It is located in the Arches National Park near Moab, Utah. Check the following out if you want to learn about the biological soil crust and cyanobacteria, one of earths oldest known life forms.

I must confess, since I’m the the guy on the left, the complete credit for this image goes to my novelist wife Francis, of Disappearing in Plain Sight fame. Click to see her post “Wisterias in Bloom”, or follow her to Gwen Stevens 4 AM Writer, on lessons learned about self publishing.

Stay tuned for my second post, on In the Background . . . a montage!

A mirror.  Bells!  And . . . resting in peace.

Quite the mystery, eh?

Cheers . . . .  Bruce

12 thoughts on “In the Background

  1. Dear Bruce, thank you for visiting my blog. I love this picture! I haven’t had a chance to go to the Grand Canyon yet but this reminds me of it. You might be interested in reading my blog on Sedona, Arizona, breathtaking views as well.

    • Yes – I did look at the post… beautiful indeed. The like button wasn’t responding… argh. I loved the photo of “the castle.” My wife and I visited Sedona once about 10 years ago, and your post brought a beautiful sense of deja-vu, Thanks for that, and the comment and the visit. Be well 🙂 In friendship… Bruce

  2. Pingback: One Size, Fits All | theseeker

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Internal Reflection of the Background | Humbled Pie

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | Pilot Fish

  5. Pingback: weekly photo challenge: in the background | my sweetpainteddreams

Leave a Reply

