Towering monuments of civilization and wilderness.

Whenever the light of civilization falls upon you with a blighting power . . .                

go to the wilderness.

IMG_2975

Dull business routine, the fierce passions of the market place, the perils of envious

cities become but a memory . . .

 

The wilderness will take hold of you. It will give you good red blood . . .

North Vancouver Island

You will soon behold all with a peaceful soul.

 

George S. Evans

 

Photo Notes, etc.

Top photo is a view of downtown Ottawa. If you follow the freeway to the S-curve, you will see the thin spire of the Peace Tower next to the dome of Canada’s Parliament building. Taken in August 2005.

The 2nd photo shows local mountains watching over a peaceful lake on Northern Vancouver Island , near where Francis and I live. Taken last week – March  27 , 2013.

If you haven’t yet checked out Francis’ blog, Disappearing in Plain Sight, click here for a recent sample – The Characterization of a Blog – it’s a unique perspective on blogging. At the bottom of her post is a rare view of our cabin from the lake. Check it out. 

9 thoughts on “Towering monuments of civilization and wilderness.

  1. I was writing a poem about a window, it involves a high way too and returning to nature = peace for me, when I click this post and there is it a window with a highway and then I go to your wife’s blog and in her about page she talks about seeing her in the window, it is crazy how things happen. I am now following your wife’s blog love to read and write, and she does have a very different blog, as for you bravo with the words and the photos, in nature that where it all resides, we learn so much from it, but we humans often forget this.

    My poem is a sad one at the beginning where the highway is but is not about that is about the story.

    • Hi. Doris. I would love to read your poem if it is finished or when it is finished. Ok? My brother Fred once blurted out to me “it is a sad and beautiful world!”

      It is amazing and wonderful that the photos and quote and my wifes blog resonated with you and your poem. Carl Jung would have named it serendipity. To me it is sort of a synergy of humanity, the good and hope of connections between people and positive ideas, and also sharing and learning and being aware of the pain and suffering of the world, too. Maybe we can even do something about all this. I believe words and creativity does lead us to action

      Thanks so much for your comments from the heart . . . Peace . . . Bruce

    • Thanks Victoria. Here’s a bit of my ‘process’ . . . (if you are interested)

      In finding suitably inspiring quotes to use with my pictures (or vice versa), I have a small stack of books beside my computer, and I use google (or I go to a list of quotes I have created). The recent mountain and lake photo in this post I had copied to my “ActivePhotoBlog” folder, and I was planning on doing the post with just it.

      The muse hit me when I read the Evans quote and then scrolled through my ActivePhotoBlog images – it was then I also noticed the Ottawa picture. It was like the photo said “choose me – choose me.” (and photos do speak – right?)

      And hence some synergy occured. I believe it keeps us alive.

      By the way – the Evans quote comes from a book called “Meditations from the Wilderness” by Charles A.E. Brandt. He’s a 90 year old deep ecologist/ hermit/priest (an interesting combo. eh?) Inside the book is an inscription from Charles to my now deceased father which reads – “for my dear friend Mac – fr. charles”.

      I cherish this little book. I’m planning an eclectic photo/poetry post reflecting my dad & charles, and how to “borrow from a budhist monk.” The title will be “the Sun is My Heart”.

      I’ve sort of gone on a tangent here.It is just that your encouragement has got me thinkin . . .

      Keep up the good earth of the Appalachians, Victoria Namaste

      • Of course! I’m interested! And, Thank You.
        Most definitely, photos speak. They’re multilingual, too; reaching silently, to communicate across time and space. Boundlessly. When I think of Fr. Charles’ ‘combo’, it strikes me as all being synonymous.

        We share very similar methods, of how quotes and photos choose us. (at my daily devotional blog, which I am behind on.)

        What a wonderful story, about your Father, and his friend. I look forward to the post. And I’m delighted by the unintentional “encouragement”. It is synergy, that keeps us alive.

        Namaste, my Friend.

Leave a Reply

