IS THIS LAND OUR LAND? OR DOWN INTO THE ABYSS.

My previous post was about the Grand Canyon – this is a sort of encore, with a twist. Franklin Delano Roosevelt said . . .    “in brief, that the country belongs to the people ” . . . Look below as he forewarns “we the people” to take a precautionary approach.

IMG_6585 (2)

 

fdr1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“The liberty of democracy is not safe if the people tolerate the growth of private power, to the point that it is stronger than the democratic state itself. That in its essence is fascism. . .”

Franklin Delano Roosevelt

(image courtesy of google)

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6541 (2)

The fog lifts from the Grand Canyon National Park – Feb. 2007

9 thoughts on “IS THIS LAND OUR LAND? OR DOWN INTO THE ABYSS.

  1. Thanks Charles – i actually heard the quote in a podcast of Francis Moore Lappe, tallking about her book, Getting a Grip. I thought – wow- I have to write that down. I’m looking foward to continue exploring the thoughtful notes and great photos in you blog. Peace

    • Thank you Noeline – I apologize that I missed seeing your comment from a few days. It is cool that you see yourself as riding that horse – I don’t ride. When taking the photo I waited for about 15 minutes as I saw the horse and rider getting ready . . the trail down looked so awesome – all it needed was the subject(s). . . . and voila! Thanks again for visitng. Best Regards

    • Thanks. I doctored it up a bit. What I like about it, is that it is not your classical view of the grand canyon . . . it feels more mystical to me. Until I visited the park myself, I really thought “Oh, how could it really be that grand.” It was! It helped that Febuary was not peak tourist season. Thanks for your comments. I enjoyed reading your blog today. Well done with thoughtful insights. Namaste

      • I fully agree! I’ve been to the Grand Canyon once, many years ago. It was in June. This picture is indeed mystical and, as you say, not your typical view. I love it! And thank you for visiting my blog. I’m glad you liked what you found. 🙂

    • LOL . . . you wouldn’t believe how many people have said that to me, upon first seeing the photo. . . the horse comment I mean. As per the quotation, I was a little nervous about using the “f” word in the blog – but of course, filtered through a past US president like Roosevelt, I decided it was appropriate. Thanks for the affirmation, Brendan. Peace

Leave a Reply

