UNIQUE DOUBLE EXPOSURE CIRCA 1976

Here I am 37 years ago, pre-digital days – no I don’t have a twin. 

double exposure slide 1976

 

Back in 1976 with my brand new Olympus OM-1 single lens reflex camera set on a tripod, a friend depressed the shutter taking  the first shot. Returning to the camera I carefully disengaged the film as if I were rewinding  it for processing, then  I cocked the film advance lever, and re-engaged the film.   I stood in a different location as my friend snapped  the second shot.  Voila – a double exposure .  Notice how the camera turned on the tripod slightly.  Taking such a picture was chancy, considering I was on a student budget and the cost of film and processing was about a dollar per photo. Today we can use sophisticated no risk layering techniques. 

Back in the day, I also shot and edited super 8 movie “shorts”.  Set  to music in a  Charlie Chaplin style, one particular film documents my “back to the land” days,  while building the wilderness home that Fran and myself presently enjoy.  Known as “the cabin film” it was always a must see for family and friends. Who knows – maybe one day I’ll digitize it and share it here.            Cheers     Bruce

6 thoughts on “UNIQUE DOUBLE EXPOSURE CIRCA 1976

    • Hi Danielle – It’s so nice to hear from you (I was away for a few days so couldn’t respond). In the end, by the mid nineties the cabin film had been shown so many times the splices started breaking. It’s going to take some time & labour of love to resurrect it, for sure. By the way, your dad plays a leading role. Lots of love . . . Uncle Bruce

    • Heh Brendan – that is a good question. I had to make the lens aperture(f-stop) smaller so as to let less light in for each shot. I forgot that aspect, and of course it became even more challenging. And the odd thing about f-stops. The larger the number the smaller the opening to let light into the camera. i.e. f22 is very small compared to f4. That holds true even with digital cameras today. Thank you so much for the comment. Great to here from you. Bruce.

Leave a Reply

