The world through your eyes (& Peter Gabriel’s)

Peter Gabriel’s song “In My eyes”, also came to mind. (click for the music)

love I get so lost, sometimes
days pass and this emptiness fills my heart
when I want to run away
I drive off in my car
but whichever way I go
I come back to the place you are

Through the rearview mirror

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                    The open highway  – through the rear view mirror.

in your eyes
the light the heat
in your eyes
I am complete
in your eyes
I see the doorway to a thousand churches
in your eyes
the resolution of all the fruitless searches
in your eyes . . .

A base community in a church in the Stae of Oaxaca, Mexico

Over the years my friends in this Base Christian Community had there lives threatened, or ‘disappeared’, in many ways. Photo was taken in the State of Oaxaca Mexico – Circa 1991 (Time released photo –I’m in the red on the left.)

 

love, I don’t like to see so much pain
so much wasted and this moment keeps slipping away
I get so tired of working so hard for our survival
I look to the time with you to keep me awake and alive . . .

 

IMG_0521 (2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and all my instincts, they return
and the grand facade, so soon will burn
without a noise, without my pride
I reach out from the inside
in your eyes . . .    Peter Gabriel (from the album – SO)

 

IN A NEW POST CREATED SPECIFICALLY FOR THIS CHALLENGE, SHARE A PICTURE OF THE WORLD THROUGH YOUR EYES

Note that photos 1 & 3 were taken by wife Francis, of Disappearing in Plain Sight – writing about writing – check it out.

I look forward this week to everyone’s world, through your eyes.

Namaste – Bruce

25 thoughts on “The world through your eyes (& Peter Gabriel’s)

  1. Hi there. I’ve been writing an article about Peter Gabriel for my blog, and have been looking around at other mentions of his work and I found your blog. I really like this entry, especially the way the lyrics of the song are ‘infused’ throughout the piece. Thanks, too, for sharing your photos!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes (Les Amants Nimes) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: W.P. Photo Challenge – Through My Eyes – Road Trip | Bastet and Sekhmet

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes (Provence) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes (Pigeon) | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: Photography: Sunday Walk | Bastet and Sekhmet

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The World through my Eyes (Ferryboat setting Sail)) | What's (in) the picture?

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge 2 – Caos through my eyes | Bastet and Sekhmet

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: THE WORLD THROUGH YOUR EYES | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  10. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: The world through your eyes | The (Urban-Wildlife) Interface

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through Your Eyes | Memory Catcher

  12. Great images. And I know this song sooo well, it’s a regular in the house in the car, my partner is a Gabriel nut! Thank you for sharing. I suppose I should get my point and shoot finger out and post my photos for the week!
    Have a great weekend..
    Ishaiya

    • Thanks Ishaiya. Glad this touched a chord -it really came to my mind, on the “through your eyes theme” – and I still have this song on cassette, so I’ll have to pull it out for a listen to the whole album! Glad you and your partner enjoy it too, and great weekend for both of you! Bruce

    • Thank you Cindy. What are the other of the top 3? By the way – your novel, Knife with the Ivory Blade, in the few pages I read, looks like a fascinating read. I’ll bookmark it, and try to get to it in future. I have to admit that now and then I love a good movie too – though lately haven’t done much TV. Thanks for dropping by . . . best regards – Bruce

      • How very nice! I am quite proud of my novel and would be very happy to know how you liked it in the end, Bruce.
        “Into the Mystic” Van Morrison and anyone who sings Cole Porter’s “So in Love”. 🙂

      • Ah – I love ‘into the Mystic’ – sort of iconic in our clan, and was the choice for my stepdaughters wedding tune – I don’t know the cole porter song , so maybe i’ll have to get to know it. Thanks

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The World through my Eyes / Pétanque | What's (in) the picture?

    • Thanks Jeff. It’s near Sedona, Arizona. I tagged along with Fran to a conference of hers one year, and we had a wonderful week of exploring. I’ve blogged with a few of the images from that trip – like the “Is this land our land?” post – the grand canyon with a twist. I think you’ll appreciate that too – check it out – https://throughtheluminarylens.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/is-this-land-our-land-or-down-into-the-abyss/ . Hope your weekend is going well & take care, with B.B. watchin, and all – Peace – Bruce

      • Hey Bruce, I thought that looked like Arizona. Currently on cross country road trip to visit family and for some r&r. Going to show the kids the canyon this week. We’re in flagstaff then headed to Colorado.

        B.B. watchin’?

        One day we’ll point the camper north to Vancouver, B.C. 🙂

      • Have a good trip, Jeff. I look forward to the day of your travels north, and hope you’ll make it over to Vancouver Island too.

        The B.B I refer to is Orwells Big Brother- guess the Snowden affair has made me a little paranoid 🙂 Not delusional, though.

        Travel well. Bruce

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.